Oregon Changes Vaping Age Minimum To 21
The State of Oregon has increased the age minimum to vape. Vapers who are below 21 can no longer purchase, order, or receive vaping or vape related items legally. The move comes as many other states are restructuring how nicotine and tobacco consumption is managed.
With the outcry from family groups and the mass media reporting that underage vaping is growing in popularity, these changes are not unexpected. States across the nation have moved the threshold further along, with the idea being that while able to vote these new adults are not capable of comprehending the dangers of both tobacco and nicotine.
Vaping while a healthier alternative still has ways to go in research and for that reason its hard to argue with these changes. Smoking cessation has been a very touchy subject for well over a decade. Oregon becomes the fifth state in the country to change its minimum age for tobacco purchases to 21 years of age.
Fines for stores that sell tobacco or vape related products to those under 21 years of age range from $50 and $250, $500 and up to $1000 per infraction for repeat violators. Local merchants have expressed mixed feelings about this new law but understand its importance as most wouldn’t want their own children partaking at those ages.
In 2016 Governor Brown included inhalant nicotine solutions to the the Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act (ICAA) which went into effect January 1st, 2016. Part of this act restricts usage of said labeled products in public places such as restaurants, parks, and stadiums. This is similar to the one put in place in the state of New York by then Governor Michael Bloomberg.
Online retailers have started to adjust to the required changes and through age verification platforms will filter those who do not meet the minimum purchase age. Expect more states to follow this path.